Using Roles & Permissions to Manage User Access

What are roles and permissions?

Some of you with technical backgrounds might understand these concepts, but for those who don’t, it might seem a bit daunting, but don’t worry, it’s not that bad.

Roles are basically categories of users. Each role describes a certain type of user and has some permissions associated with it.

Permissions are what they sound like, the permission to do certain actions.

Imagine they’re like keys. If you want to let someone in your house, but not in your closet, you’ll give them a key to the front door but use a different key to lock up the closet.

uTeach Cloud allows you to do the same thing. Let me give a few simple examples to start off:

  • You want teachers to be able to see their own schedule and the course information associated with the classes, but you don’t want to give them access to any student or payment information. Simply turn on the schedule and course permissions, but turn off everything related to students.
  • Maybe your teaching environment is decentralized and you want the teachers to be able to record attendance and make contact information from the students. Easy! Just turn on the permissions for controlling attendance and contact information.
  • Your part-time front desk staff will take payments, so you want to give them the ability to input information, but to make sure they don’t do anything by mistake, you can go and turn off their ability to delete payments, students, etc. Making sure someone doesn’t accidentally delete something.

Roles and permissions are very flexible and offer you a lot of choices.

What are the standard roles in uTeach Cloud?

uTeach Cloud comes with some standard roles set up that should cover most use cases in a variety of educational settings, though there will always be outliers, which can be dealt with by creating custom roles.

Here’s an overview of the roles available out of the box:

  • Super Admin: This role is for the big boss. You can control anything from this user, including the roles and permissions of other users. It’s a good idea not to make a lot of super admins to prevent others from accidentally changing something related to the user permissions, which might end up locking yourself out.
  • Admin: The admin role is going to be the main role for interacting with the app on the school management team side. Admin should have almost all the permissions available, expect the ability to manage roles.
  • Teacher: The teacher role allows teachers to view their schedule and course information by default, but restricts access to payments and student information.
  • Student: The student role is customizable and usually used by students attending typical group lessons.
  • Private Student: A special role for private lesson students that prevents students from being able to see each other’s schedules but allows them to log in and make reservations.
  • Librarian: A limited role with access only to the library features.
  • New Contact: A role to hold the information of students who have made inquiries or attended trial lessons but not yet enrolled.
  • Parent: A role which gives parents their own login, from which they can control one or more children accounts.
  • Archived Teacher: Use this role to archive teachers who have left the school but whose information you don’t want to delete.
  • Archived Student: Use this role to archive students who have left the school but whose information you don’t want to delete.

With these roles, you should be able to take care of most use cases.

How do I edit a role’s permissions?

It would be impossible to describe all the different use cases in detail, but let’s take a look at one specific case to illustrate the steps for customizing role permission on uTeach Cloud.

Case: Private Student

Needs:

  • Default Language: Japanese
  • Allow Login: Yes
  • Permissions: Allow students to view their own payment history, class usage history, and course information.

Steps:

  1. Navigate to Manage Roles -> Private Student.
  2. Select the “Default Language” from the drop down and make sure the “Can Login?” toggle is switched to On.
  3. Click on the accordions for Payments, Class, and Course to open them up.
  4. Toggle on “Student Payments”, “Class Usage”, and “Course” toggles.
  5. Save your settings at the bottom.